Cyprus refuses the ratification of the  Anti - Counterfeiting Trade Agreement (ACTA)

Cyprus and Germany, Slovakia, Estonia and Netherlands have denied the signing of the Anti-Counterfeiting Trade Agreement.

There were great concerns amongst numerous countries about how the fundamental rights and freedoms of the people in Europe will be influenced with this Agreement, such as the freedom of expression.

The European Court of Justice (ECJ) will be examining ACTA and whether it breaches the fundamental freedoms based on the European Convention on Human Rights.

Based on the above, Cyprus postponed the ratification of ACTA, expecting the ruling of the European Court of Justice.